Working Group

  • Home
  • Working Group

Design for Freedom Working Group Members

(as of March 2024)

Abernethy, Jane | Humanscale, Chief Sustainability Officer

Allen, Cindy | Interior Design, Editor-in-Chief

Amann, Keith | Related Companies, VP, Sustainability

Baan, Iwan | Photographer and Published Author

BatShalom, Barbara | BuildingEase, Founder & CEO

Bergmann, Kai-Uwe, FAIA | BIG, Partner

Berke, Deborah, FAIA, LEED AP | Yale School of Architecture, Dean, and Deborah Berke Partners, Founder

Bernstein, Phillip, FAIA, RIBA, LEED AP | Yale School of Architecture, Associate Dean and Professor Adjunct

Best, Rebecca | Material Bank, VP Sustainability & Market Engagement

Bevan, Annie | Mindful Materials, Executive Director

Bradley, Paul | Ventia, Sustainable Energy & Supply Chain

Bronet, Frances | Pratt Institute, President

Cabanos, Victoria | Stuart Lynn, Managing Principal/CEO

C.deBaca, Luis, Amb. (ret.) | Former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons

Clemence, Paul | Architectural Photographer and Author

Cook, Rick | COOKFOX Architects, Founding Partner

Cooke John, Nina | Founder and Principal, Studio Cooke John Architecture + Design

Coppedge, Susan, Amb. (ret.) | Former U.S. Ambassador-at-Large to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons & Krevolin & Horst

Crawford, Jill | Type A Projects, Founding Partner

Crosbie, Michael, Ph.d, FAIA, University of Hartford, Professor 

Clay, Curtis | US Dept. of State, OBO, Director of Architecture

Darling, Diana | The Architect’s Newspaper, CEO, Co-Founder, and Publisher

De Hoog, Tanya, CEng, FIStructE, MIEAust | Principal,  Thornton Tomasetti

Denison, Dirk, FAIA, MCHAP | MCHAP Director and Professor at Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT), College of Architecture

Dizon, Angel | Northwestern University, Senior Associate Vice President of Facilities

Dodd, Graham | ARUP, Director

DuBois, Bill, CSI, CCS | Gensler, Certified Construction Specifier/Architect (ret.)

Dyson, Anna | Yale Center for Ecosystems in Architecture (CEA), Founding Director

Ekman, Rand | HKS, Principal and Chief Sustainability Officer

Foushee, Christine | The Change Collective, Owner

Frankel, James | Thompson Hine, Partner

Gamolina, Julia | Madame Architect, Founder & Ennead, Associate Principal

Gilbert, Jared | COOKFOX Architects, Associate Partner

Goodwin-Robbins, Lisa, RA, LEED AP | Associate Principal, Kalin Associates

Gore, Meredith, PhD. | University of Maryland, Associate Professor

Gorman, Jay | Sciame Construction, Project Executive

Grant, Brad | Howard University, Professor, Vice Chair, Department of Architecture

Green, Michael, AIBC, FRAIC, AIA | MGA, a Katerra Company, President and CEO

Grennan, Conor | NYU Stern, Dean of MBA Students

Grennan, Elizabeth | Global Managing Counsel, McKinsey Digital

Guilliams, Gabe, PE | BuroHappold Engineering, Partner, Lighting Specialist

Hall, Joanna | US Coalition on Sustainability, SustainChain, Executive Director

Hamill, Pete | Senior Vice President and Regional General Manager, New England at Turner Construction Company

Harriss, Harriet, Ph.D., CONS, RIBA, PFHEA, PFRSA | Professor, Pratt Institute

Henderson, Ronald | IIT, Director of Landscape Architecture and Urbanism Program

Höweler, Eric | Höweler + Yoon, Co-founder & Principal

Idenburg, Florian, RA, AIA-IA | SO – IL, Founding Principal

Jones, Susan | atelierjones, Founder, Architect

Kellogg, Diana | Diana Kellogg Architects, Founder

Khan, Maha | Finance Against Slavery and Trafficking (FAST), United Nations University Centre for Policy Research, Financial Sector Lead

King, Leslie P., Esq. | Carlton Fields, Shareholder, Construction Litigation

Klemmer, Andrew | Paratus Group, President & Founder 

Lee, Evelyn | Slack Technologies, Head of Workplace Strategy and Innovation and Practice of Architecture, Founder

Lee, Vivian | Gensler, Design Director

Liu, Jing, AIA | SO – IL, Founding Principal

MacDonald,  Shawn, Ph.D. | Verité, CEO

McCadney, Jennifer | Kelley Drye & Warren LLP, Special Counsel

McGuigan, Cathleen | Architectural Record, Consulting Editor

Medina, Sammy | The Architect’s Newspaper, Consulting Editor

Miller, Peter, AIA, LEED | Palette Architecture, Founding Partner

Mizzi, Joseph | Sciame Construction, President & COO

Musanti, Amy | Assa Abloy, Director of Sustainable Building Solutions

Nakajima, Tateo, FRSA FIOA | ARUP, Fellow

Natke, Patricia Saldaña, FAIA, ALA, NCARB | UrbanWorks, Founding Partner and President

Nielsen, Signe | MNLA Landscape Architects, Principal

Opara, Eddie, AIGA | Pentagram, Partner

Oppenheimer, Nat, PE | Silman, EVP, Senior Principal

Posner, Michael | NYU Stern, Professor of Ethics & Finance, Director Center for Business & Human Rights

Propst, Debbie | President, Global Retail, MillerKnoll

Reynolds, Fiona | UNSW Australian Human Rights Institute and Australian Sustainable Finance Institute, Director 

Ricks, Alan, Int FRIBA | MASS Design Group, Founding Principal and Chief Design Officer

Rillosi, Antonio | ExtraVega, CEO & Founder

Rolland, Ann, FAIA | FXCollaborative, Partner

Santos Rivera, Yiselle | HKS, Principal, Director of Justice, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

Sharples, Christopher, AIA | SHoP Architects, Founding Principal

Shaw, Matthew | The Architect’s Newspaper, Contributing Editor

Short, Annabel | Institute for Human Rights and Business (NY), Built Environment Program-Advisor

Slade, Hayes, AIA, IIDA | Slade Architecture, Co-Founder & Principal and AIA NY 2019 President

Slade, James, FAIA, LEED-AP| Slade Architecture, Founder Partner

Sperry, Raphael | ARUP, Associate Principal and Global Social Equity Leader

Trubiano, Franca, Ph.D. | University of Pennsylvania Weitzman School of Design, Architect and Associate Professor in Architecture

Ulicny, Brian, Ph.D. | Raytheon BBN Technologies at Raytheon Intelligence & Space, Associate Director, Research; Analytics and Machine Intelligence Group

Varkulja, Luciana | uma architecture, Founder, Architect, & Urban Designer and USC, Professor

Weisz, Claire, FAIA | WXY architecture + urban design, Principal-in-Charge

White, Megan | Introba, Vice President of ESG

Wildman, David | Bloomberg LP, Global Head Facilities, Sustainability Ops and MEP Infrastructure

Yao, Kim, AIA | ARO, Principal and AIA NY 2020 President

Yoshida, Shohei | Shohei Yoshida and Associates, Principal


Lee, Evelyn | AIA, Incoming President


Prince, Sharon | CEO and Founder

Thatcher, Chelsea | Chief Strategy Officer and Founding Creative Director

Walsh, Meg Hely | Chief Partnerships Officer

Rizzo, Nora | Ethical Materials Director

Abraham, Brigid, AIA | Design for Freedom Project Manager

Oki, Toshihiro | Architectural Advisor

Thatcher, Adam | Co-Founder Grace Farms Foods

Rapuano, Elizabeth | Chief Communications Officer

Sikora, Ashley | Director of Marketing

Cleary, Eavan Michele | Director of Brand Design

In Honor of William Menking, (1947- 2020) Co-Founder of the Design for Freedom Working Group and Founding Editor-in Chief of The Architect’s Newspaper

“Bill’s well-tested observation that architects are really well meaning and are taught to make the world a better place, and his commitment to inspire leading architects to step up for slave-free buildings was instrumental in galvanizing our early Working Group.

We will move forward with his wonderful enthusiasm and fervor.”
— Sharon Prince,
CEO and Founder, Grace Farms Foundation